CDC adds 15 more destinations to ‘high risk’ travel list

CDC adds 15 more destinations to ‘high risk’ travel list

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has extra a quantity of destinations to an advisory checklist that warns versus journey due to the continuing spread of the novel coronavirus and its contagious omicron variant.

In accordance to the CDC, 15 new destinations have been cited Monday as a amount 4 — meaning “really higher risk” — for Americans. 

All those cities include things like Columbia, Costa Rica, Fiji, Jamaica, Kuwait, Mongolia, Peru, Romania, Saint Martin, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and the Dominican Republic. 

Nations are specified a “Level 4” designation when much more than 500 COVID-19 cases for each 100,000 residents are registered in the past 28 days.

Travel to the 15 new locations has been discouraged by the overall health company. Those who should vacation to these destinations are encouraged to be totally vaccinated versus COVID-19 prior to their vacation.

“Do not travel internationally until eventually you are entirely vaccinated,” the advisory reported. “Receiving vaccinated is nevertheless the very best way to protect your self from severe condition, slow the spread of COVID-19 and cut down the range of new variants. CDC encourages you to get a COVID-19 vaccine booster dose if you are qualified. People today who are not thoroughly vaccinated should really abide by supplemental recommendations in advance of, throughout and immediately after vacation.”


A scenic view of aircraft flying overhead photographed on November 29, 2010 in Raleigh, North Carolina. (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

The CDC extra that individuals need to stick to all airline COVID-19 prerequisites and any necessities at these locations. It is suggested folks get examined with a viral take a look at 1 to three days before a excursion.

The agency also famous that preventative health demands for tourists in other nations around the world may differ from the U.S. 

“If you do not stick to your destination’s necessities, you may perhaps be denied entry and expected to return to the United States,” the company added.

Relevant: CDC advises vacationers to stay away from cruises regardless of vaccination status

This news comes just one particular 7 days following the CDC warned against travel to 22 nations and territories as COVID-19 situations surged. 

People countries integrated: Albania, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Bermuda, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Egypt, Grenada, Guyana, Israel, Panama, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sint Maarten, Suriname, the Bahamas, the British Virgin Islands, the Turks and Caicos Islands and Uruguay.

Before this thirty day period, the company also put Canada on that checklist

“Because of the recent condition in Canada, even completely vaccinated tourists might be at hazard for having and spreading COVID-19 variants,” the CDC said

FOX Information contributed to this story. This tale was documented from Los Angeles.


Leave a Reply